Skip to main content

Facial bones

The facial bones, from the top of the head to the bottom, are the frontal bone (calvaria), the nose bone (nasal), the cheekbone (zygoma), the upper jawbone (maxilla), and the lower jawbone (mandible).

Current as of: March 9, 2022

Author: Healthwise Staff
Medical Review:
William H. Blahd Jr. MD, FACEP - Emergency Medicine
Adam Husney MD - Family Medicine
Kathleen Romito MD - Family Medicine


PeaceHealth endeavors to provide comprehensive health care information, however some topics in this database describe services and procedures not offered by our providers or within our facilities because they do not comply with, nor are they condoned by, the ethics policies of our organization.