PeaceHealth Names Two ‘Physician of Excellence’ for 2013


​The Medical Staff of PeaceHealth St. Joseph Medical Center has honored Donald Berry, MD, pulmonologist with PeaceHealth Medical Group, and hospitalist Lora Sherman, MD, as “Physicians of Excellence” for 2013.

Dr. Berry and Dr. Sherman were recognized at the annual Medical Staff dinner hosted Jan. 22 by PeaceHealth. This year’s nominees included: Janet Seltzer, MD; Larry Moss; MD; Shaun Sullivan, MD; Dana Stiner; MD; Dana Petersen, MD; S. Will Hong, MD; Vishal Chaudary, MD; Allen Johnson, MD; John Gunningham; MD; James Holstine, DO; and Sara Mostad, MD, PhD.

Donald Berry, MD 

Dr. Berry earned his medical degree at State University of New York School of Medicine at Stony Brook. He completed his residency in Internal Medicine and a fellowship in Pulmonology and Critical Care at University of California San Diego. He joined PeaceHealth in 1985. As a pulmonologist, D​r. Berry is a specialist in the diagnosis and treatment of lung conditions and diseases.

Lora Sherman, MD Dr. Sherman received her medical degree from Case Western Reserve University and completed her residency at Tacoma Family Medicine. She joined the medical staff in 2000, and became a hospitalist in 2009. As a hospitalist, she works exclusively with those who have been hospitalized and does not maintain a private practice.

Both physicians were honored by their colleagues with nomination letters that cited the high quality, compassionate care each provide.

“Dr. Berry is calm, rational, kind – and a tireless physician [who is] one of the smartest, most collegial and respectful physicians we have,” said Dr. Mostad, who also noted his service in leadership. Dr. Ian Thompson, another who nominated Dr. Berry, agreed.

“He has been an active member of Medical Staff leadership for years and established the Intensive Care Unit committee,” said Dr. Thompson. “He was one of the first to promote quality indicators making a difference in outcomes.” He added that Dr. Berry is hard-working and beloved by patients and caregivers alike. 

Dr. Claire Beiser noted his “…outstanding clinical judgment and interpersonal skills, compassion, great bedside manner [and] ability to remain cheerful despite an enormous call burden.”

Those who nominated Dr. Sherman remarked on her similarly thorough care and compassionate bedside manner. 

“She has a kind and caring demeanor,” said Laurie Ono, RN. PeaceHealth Social Workers Jennifer Geracie, Joanna Larson and Karen Aislinn shared more.

“We often work with patients who have a multitude of challenging issues – end-of-life, mental health, substance abuse,” said Geracie. “Dr. Sherman treats patients and families with utmost respect… and can have difficult conversations in the most respectful and heartfelt manner.”

“Her patients feel accepted, listened to and cared for,” added Larson.

She has an exceptional understanding of holistic care and the impact of psychosocial issues on health,” said Aislinn. 

Previous recipients of the “Physician of Excellence” honor, first presented in 2007, are: 2012, Gary Smith, MD; 2011, Ian Thompson, MD and Hull “Cactus” Cook, MD; 2010, Marvin Wayne, MD and Emily Gibson, MD; 2009, Claire Beiser, MD and Kenneth Bachenberg, MD; 2008, William Lombard, MD and Marcy Hipskind, MD; and 2007, Margaret Jacobson, MD and Kenneth Gass, MD.         ​