A vegan is a person who eats only fruits, grains, nuts, seeds, vegetables, and vegetable products and consumes no animal or dairy products of any kind.

The word vegan on prepared-food labels means that the product is made entirely from vegetables and vegetable products and contains no meat, fish, eggs, milk, or dairy products.

Current as of: November 14, 2014

Author: Healthwise Staff

Medical Review: E. Gregory Thompson, MD - Internal Medicine & Joseph O'Donnell, MD - Hematology, Oncology